Illiteracy

Illiteracy has become a big obstacle during the last century and is still a problematic question with the quick development of technology and automation. While some countries have taken various steps to eradicate it and focus on a strong foundation of education, on the other hand, many countries neglect this and still don’t care that much. Well, personally, I believe from my everyday experience and observation that the ability to read and write is the most important. I have several reasons to substantiate my viewpoint, but I will mainly discuss two major reasons in the following paragraphs.

First, it is essential for a person to have at least the basics of reading and writing to survive in this society. While, in the past, some people could live without the knowledge of written language, now it is nearly impossible. The way of life has changed so much that an illiterate person cannot be a part of the nation, especially in the developed countries. Without having the ability to read or understand your bills, taxes, and other documents, you would have to deal with lots of problems. Even, you can go nowhere by yourself without reading the maps and road signs. Uneducated people have to rely on others for help.

Second, nowadays, most jobs require reading and writing skills, and the tendency that these skills will be more important has increased. In fact, due to the development of technology, more jobs on the labor market are for literate people. For example, now a large number of people are not required to work on land or in factories, as most of that work is done by machines and gadgets. Hence, people who can read the instructions well and operate the machines are hired. My mother’s recent experience is a good case in point. Her office made it mandatory to use computers to maintain files, but as she doesn’t know how to operate computers, she was compelled to leave her job.

In conclusion, the scariest part of an illiterate person’s life is that he can’t do all the things on his own, he has to depend on others for assistance. And not only will he face difficulty doing simple tasks, but he will also be of no use to the nation as a productive and useful individual. Hence, due to the aforementioned reasons, the ability to read and write is the most important.