Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

-Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader

-Say nothing

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The successful people know when to say the right thing at the right time. In case I were in a meeting, where the leader of the meeting said incorrect information, I would behave according to the importance and the relevance of this information to the required work and how much impact it could have on the overall result of quality of the final product of our company or factory. I will explain my point of view in the coming paragraph in detail.

To begin with, if the incorrect information that is mentioned by the manager is essential to the work, the honesty will drive me to correct it, but in a gentle nice way that does not provoke the manager, or cause him to be angry. To say it in other words, if such wrong information could have great impact on the possibility of the success of our work mission, I would certainly try to correct it immediately. It is crucial that this interruption during the leader directions be made in a smart way. I don't think that any good manager would get angry if you drew his attention to a mistake that could cause the company a great loss. On the contrary, he would really appreciate your concentration and eagerness to protect the company form any possible loss.

In other cases, the situation and my reaction could be different, especially if the incorrect information is trivial and will not have any serious impact on the final outcome of our work progress. For example, if the manager said something like that all the company employees should always dress formally during the working hours, against to what I believe that formal clothes should be only to those who deal directly with the public, whereas, those who work in settings departments that do not have any direct contact with the customers, can wear casual attire to make them comfortable during the long working hours. In that case, I would not cut him off, and maybe wait for the right chance when we are alone. The good mood is important too, and I would smoothly reveal my opinion as a friendly suggestion.

To sum up, I believe that we have to take many factors into consideration when deciding whether we are going to interrupt the manager or not. It all depends on the importance of the incorrect information and how it could influence the outcome of work environment.