Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

--Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

--Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader

--Say nothing

As the old saying goes, "to err is human", which suggests that we cannot guarantee that everything we say will be completely correct. Here is a situation where the teacher or the leader of the meeting says something incorrect. Some people prefer to stay silently, others prefer to interrupt and correct the mistake right away, but I lean toward the option that we should wait and then talk to the teacher or the leader. My reasons are as follows.

First of all, waiting until the class or meeting is over can give us more time to state our opinions. With the sufficient time, we can illustrate our ideas with more detailed facts so we can make our opinions more convincing. It also helps the teacher or leader to better understand your reasons and thoughts. Whereas if you interrupt immediately, it is not guaranteed that you can correct the teacher's mistake right away. You will also make your statement less appealing in such limited time. Hence, waiting until the class or meeting is over is a better option.

Secondly, interrupting others can be disrespectful and shows poor etiquette. Sometimes when you suddenly interrupt the professor, he or she is likely to forget the point mentioned before. And this is probably the reason why many teachers hate being interrupted during class. The result can be more serious when you think about that all students are paying close attention to the professor and suddenly he or she is interrupted. The sudden interruption can make others more difficult to fully comprehend the point that the teacher is trying to put across.

Last but not least, reminding others can update others' recognition so next time they will not make similar mistakes. My experience can greatly illustrate this point. One time, our history teacher mistakenly said the wrong time of when China was established. I realized that immediately, but I chose to wait until the class is over. Later I told him the right time of Chinese establishment. He praised me after searching the Internet because he had remembered the wrong time from the first time. So my reminding help him correct a mistake without undermining his reputation or dignity.

In conclusion, we should wait until the class over and then correct the teacher's or leader's mistake. In that way we will have enough time and won't ruin his or her fame.