Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.

The history book tells us that life in the past is tough due to the political and economical environment. Here is a claim that life today is cozier than it was when our grandparents were children. I totally accede to this statement because I have learned from my grandparents that people at that time suffered from wars, hunger, diseases and so on. Besides, the technology today plays a tremendous role in facilitating our lives, making us live more comfortable lives.

To begin with, people in the past suffered numerous harsh conditions. For instance, many men are forced to join the army in order to defend against the Japanese intruders. Without men at home, family income can be extremely low, so the kids or women all lived in formidable condition. In addition, people in the past constantly suffered from hunger, not only because of the deficient crop production but also due to the terrible financial condition. All these drawbacks suggest that life in the past were much harsher.

Secondly, the technology in the past was at the primary level, thus live at that time could be inconvenient. For example, limited ways to go out greatly impede people from traveling too far. Cars were not available in China in the 20th century, and people went outside mainly by foot, which was pretty time-consuming. Besides, people lived in small houses which were made by mud. Whereas now people live in spacious buildings with various high-tech products to improve our lives, such as air conditioning, elevators and so forth. Hence, compared to the past, modern people live cozier lives due to the rapidly-developing technology.

Admiteddly, life in the past can be easier in some degree. In the past, all residents were farmers. They farm the land and when the crops got mature they just cultivate the plants.

All they involve in their lives are farming so they did not face a lot of pressure. However, people nowadays are under much pressure, exerting negative influences on their health. We have to work diligently to finish our work or we may face the danger of being laid off. Consequently, life in the past can be slow and moderate, which contrasts to modern lives.

To summarize, the technology has greatly facilitated our lives but at the same time people are facing more and more burdens. It is true that life was hard in the past but people could still live happily without too much burden.