In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

I accede to the statement that fewer cars will be in use in twenty years than today. Since the society is developing rapidly and the technology is growing at a staggering rate, more innovative ways are likely to replace the use of cars. Besides, the current problems of cars can prevent residents from steering them, like the increasing gas fee, the CO2 emission, etc.

To begin with, people may prefer alternative ways to go out instead of driving cars. For instance, people may take the bus or the subway for the sake of saving money. Nowadays, the subway and bus system in China becomes pretty mature. So it is very convenient to go out by subway or by bus. What's more, traditional cars can give way to state-of-the-art products, such as aerocrafts or other vehicles we have never imagined. It is probable that new products can tremendously facilitate our travels. Consequently, cars will be prone to be replaced by these new vehicles.

Secondly, cars can bring potential problems, undermining the environment and jeopardizing our health. It is universally acknowledged that cars emit CO2 and SO2, which exerts negative influence on the atmosphere, aggravating the greenhouse effect.Except that, these gases can pollute the air we breathe, which is like an invisible 'killer'. Given the fact that people are paying more attention to their health, they will probably use less cars for the sake of healthier life.

And there exist other problems the use of cars gives rise to. More cars means more traffic jam, which is annoying when one is commuting between the workplace and home.

With regard to that, governments have put forward some policies to limit the number of cars in some provinces of China, like Beijing and Shanghai. Hence I believe similar policies will appear everywhere to limit the car use. Besides, the car-related incidences can surge with the increasing use of cars. And car incidences can be horrible. In view of all these deficiencies of cars, it is likely that car use will reduce in the future.

In conclusion, cars do bring us a lot of convenience, but given the problems it brings about, it is unlikely that the use of cars will soar in the future.