Imagine that you are considering taking action to improve your performance in order to get better grades (marks) at school or to get a promotion and higher pay at work. You are

considering the following two actions:

A. Doing additional work or extra assignments beyond what is required;

B. Participating more actively and contributing your own ideas more frequently in group discussions;

Which one of these two actions do you think would be more helpful for improving your performance? Why?

Commonly, people take various actions to make teachers or leaders have a good impression on them and get favorable feedback. In my opinion, I believe participating actively and contributing ideas frequently in group discussions is an effective way to get promotions and good grades. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

For starters, we can exercise our capabilities of thinking critically, questioning concepts, and exploring new ideas by actively participating in group discussions, which can provide us a solid competitive edge over those who follow others passively. People who find it easy to come up with novel ideas are more creative, and thus more likely to be recognized by leaders. My own experience is a compelling model of that. I took a course called Introduction to contemporary literature as a sophomore. During a group discussion on the political view of an author called Zhou Zuoren, all students else expressed that they agreed with the author. However, I questioned his opinions on gender, revolution, and nation. I articulated my idea by using some detailed examples and quotations. As a result, the professor praised me for my critical thinking and gave me an A grade at the end of that semester. This example shows that teachers appreciate students with courage and motivation to express opinions.

Besides, active participation in group discussions shows a person’s enthusiasm about studying, which is encouraged in school and at work. An employee willing to participate in group discussions on projects must has made full preparations before the meeting. Take my previous colleague, Julie, as an example. She tended to read all related documents carefully every time before a group discussion started so that she could have a deep understanding of the topic and confidently challenge others’ thoughts during the discussion. Therefore, She obtained more professional skills and superior ability than those remiss colleagues. Finally, the leader recognized her potential and promoted her to a manager position.

Admittedly, doing extra work can reveal my diligence. However, it can not improve my quality if most of the work is repeated or tedious. In this condition, doing extra work is nothing but a waste of time.

Based on the reasons stated above, I assume participating actively and contributing ideas frequently in group discussions can improve my performance.