Imagine you want to get better grades in school, or get a promotion or a raise at work. Which of the following would you take?

- Do more work than existing requirements

- Participate more actively in group discussions, or contribute your own ideas

There is no shortage of opinion on what people should do to get a better grade or a promotion at work. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely select to participate more in group discussion. It is my firm belief that this decision will be much more beneficial for a number of reasons, and I will develop those ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, by participating in group discussion,you will know which part you have problems with. To be specific, other people may point out things you don’t do well, which you haven’t realized before. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. When I was preparing for my endodontic class final project presentation, I was very worried that I wouldn't do well and would get a bad score. Fortunately, my friends arranged a small group meeting where we discussed the topic and told each other which part we can improve to make our presentation better. As a result, I was well-prepared to present my final project and was able to get an A from this class.

Secondly, joining the group discussion is beneficial for your connection. This is because when you join a group discussion, you will meet a lot of new people and expand your social circle. These people may be able to help you with work’s promotion. Drawing from my sister’s experience, she happened to meet a company’s CEO through a marketing group discussion and they got along really well. A few months later, she got a promotion to be a manager because the CEO thought she had a quality for this position based on her performance in group discussion.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that participating more in group discussion is a better choice to get a better grade or a promotion. This is because you will realize which part you have to improve and you can expand your connection.