Independent TOEFL essay TPO 9 Agree or disagree Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past

Technology is a two edged sword and it depends on how we use it. Children of today's generation certainly lack creativity. In my opinion, I strongly agree that children's creativity has been dampened due to technology. I feel this way due to certain reasons that I will be exploring in my essay.

Primordially, technology has made it quite easier for kids to get any idea on any given topic. There is always plenty of ideas available when you search for any specific topic. This has certainly degraded the creativity of children as they do not want to spend time developing ideas on anything. In my personal experience I can distinctly remember when I was in my high school and my English teacher gave us an assignment topic regarding "why is mental health important". I was quick enough to google about it without introspecting the topic on my own. This encourages the behavior of easily giving up. In long run, it makes difficult for an individual to present their ideas in front of others.

In conjunction with that, I strongly feel that children have become heavily addicted to the technology. It has inculcated a habit in children to give up your thinking easily. This is starting to create a void in the development of children. For instance, when teacher asks a student to get up in class and talk about some topic. Children these days are easily stunned and intimidated. They have started to lack basic communication and life skills in general.

Conversely, I would agree that there is a large section of people who would oppose my opinion. I understand their point of view that technology has widened the sphere of knowledge for everyone. It has certainly helped children to save their time which they could invest in various other activities. Availability of such wide horizon of topics have also encouraged people to think beyond the conventional measures.

In winding up, I would like to say that weighing on both sides, I am still of the opinion that technology has hindered the creativity of children by providing ideas easily and being so easily accessible. It is being rightly said, "Technology is a good servant, but a dangerous master".