The internet means that people do not need to travel to foreign countries to understand how others live. Do you agree or disagree?

The internet provides ample opportunities for the people to experience the world in many different ways. But to ascertain that it is not required to travel abroad is unnecessary due to the presence of the internet would be incorrect. Firstly, because the internet does not give the opportunity to interact with people face to face, thus limiting the experience similar to going abroad. a major part of traveling is meeting new people and doing some activities together that make the experience memorable. Second, tasting the cuisine of a certain country would also require a physical presence. Food is crutial to understanding other cultures, and without being able to taste the country's cuisine it's far more difficult to understand the the way of life in another country. Third it's important to remember that despite seemingly "connecting" the people it does not provide the sense of community and belonging leaving the people feeling more isolated and alone. So the entire experience is highly artificial. Some studies suggest that extensive use of the internet to substitute day to day interactions, lead to increased levels of depression in young adults. which is why it could be considered harmful, if its used too regularly. But there are certainly many benefits to the internet and in some cases, on a superficial level, it does make it easier to understand how others live.