The Internet will never replace traditional course books in schools. Do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that printed textbooks will never disappear in the school learning process, despite that modern technology is offering the humanity more and more opportunities. Honestly, I do agree with this opinion and here I will state two reasons why I am convinced that it is true.

Indeed, traditional books make the students utilize their imagination and improve their creative thinking which is important for writing essays later in the future. During the process of reading textbooks, people develop their abilities to pay attention on details, learn synonymic words and improve the grammar knowledge. All these listed abilities facilitate our brain development which fosters the academic success and positively affects our use of everyday life skills, makes us more productive and effective in the studies. The Internet is not able to provide such opportunity to student as technology was created to serve as a tool to find the information fast, but not deep.

By the same token, reading a physical book develops the mental skills of students and trains them to make decisions. It enhances their ability to search for the needed information by themselves and learn how to solve problems apart from the outside help. These skills are crucial for the growing generation as it will train them to act on their own and apply the critical thinking abilities. The Internet can hardly ever offer this experience since it fulfills the user’s needs by giving an immediate answer and has little effect on our brain development.

Nonetheless, the fast development of the technologies cannot be overestimated and it is easier for the students to search any information in the Internet than it encyclopedia. More and more applications and programs are appearing nowadays: Wikipedia enables us to search any fact or story that we are craving to find. As for the videos, Youtube is a modern tool to watch a big range of lections of every area or theme. It definitely implements getting the answers on our questions fast, but does not train any of our skills.

To sum up, I would like to say that the Internet will never remove the use of traditional textbook in the educational process. Printed books’ need in the educational system is crucial and the Internet will never offer the mankind the options that the book approach will.