Is it beneficial to stop reading and listening to the news for a few days or weeks. Agree or Disagree?

With the rapid development of technology, we can easily read and listen to news from all around the world. The category of news become more multifarious, from scandal news of some movie’s superstars to the inspired news of the athlete who win the international championship. It can see that people unable to fully decide what kinds of news they prefer to read and listen. Thus, some people argue that stop reading and listening to the news for a few days or week is beneficial to us. In contrast, I disagree this view.

First, news is a tool which the government promulgates the policy so that their citizens can receiving the information quickly and easily. In this era plaguing by the novel coronavirus, people should comply with the policy in accordance with the government. And Taiwan’s government releases news of the brand-new virus every day to warn public the current situation and the instruction to follow. Therefore, people have responsible to read and listen the news everyday to avoid becoming the black sheep.

In addition, news gives people who are the underprivileged or suffered from miserable incidents a way to make the public notice them. When we see the employer exploits his or her employees or the corruption of the government officials, people will gather the power of the masses to demand the government to supervise the employer and officials or even punish them. Similarly, when people notice that miserable accidents caused by the earthquake or the typhoon, emergency supplies will come from every corner of the world. Thence, if people stop reading and listening the news for a few days, it may severely impact the potential of news. The approach for people in need may reduce their opportunity to achieve their expectation.

Indeed, there are too much misinformation glutted with the news. It makes us annoying and confused to distinguish the correction of the news. However, if we can equip with the ability of fact-checking, it still has substantial benefit for people to read and listen the news. Broaden people’s horizon is a most impressed advantage of it. We can realize different interesting things and significant news from other countries or some inspiring things such as the team winning the championship in the world.

In conclusion, I disagree the statement that stop reading and listening to the news for a few days or weeks is beneficial.