It is better for children to grow up in the countryside than in a big city. Do you agree or disagree?

I disagree with the given claim that it is better for children to grow up in the countryside than in a big city. I believe that big city should always be the first choice when it comes to children’s overall growth and development. Also, there are prodigious number of other factors that make me prefer the big city when it comes to this question.

Firstly, a big city will have tremendous number of good schools and colleges, with all the institutions competing with each other to be the best. In such an environment, it is easy for parents to search for a good educational institute for their child, because most of them will be good. For an example, in Bangalore, owing to the increased competition between schools, even the poor people can afford to send their child to a very good school at a cheaper price. A better school meaning better education and hence excellent academic growth of children. And the great thing is that good education is distributed evenly across different steps of economic ladder in a big city. On contrast, it is not conceivable for the pauper living in the country side to think about educating their children because of lack of good schools available at affordable price.

Secondly, when it comes to entertainment, big city is always number 1. This is because there are many different mediums available nowadays. For an instance, if kids want to play, they can go to any sport center and play any sport they want. Malls are also popular means of entertainment for kids. They have gotten movies, shopping centers, food courts and different video games and VR games. All these amuses children. When it comes to exploring nature, parents can take their children to outskirts of the city to experience the serenity of nature. This count is endless, whereas, the number of facilities available in the country side is limited.

In addition to having endless means of entertainments, as highlighted in the previous paragraph, children also get to explore more when they stay in the city. Take food for an instance, with so many restaurants open in the city, serving all varieties of food from different cuisines, a child will never miss on any country’s food. This helps them to understand different country’s culture without actually going there, which I believe is a very positive and good thing. Moreover, there are so many children clubs in big cities that focuses on other aspects of children’s overall growth like speaking skills, sport skills, painting, singing, etc. The amazing thing is that they are not rare and rife all over the localities. Here, children get to make new friends, compete with them in a healthy way and increase their abilities. Such kind of clubs enhances holistic strengths of children. All these cannot be found so much in abundance in the country side.

Therefore, we looked at different aspects of big cities which make them a better place for children to grow up than in the countryside. Awesome educational institutions available for all, great medium of entertainments and overall development of their well being are only possible in abundance and at ease in big cities.