It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

The claim goes too far as to say that people are better off well-rounded than specializing in one academic field. Although a wider range of expertise may give you a competitive advantage, I dare say that substantive knowledge can save you time and money.

Suffice it to say that having a broad knowledge in many academic subjects can give you flexibility and a competitive edge. Indeed, being an expert in chemistry does not guarantee you a successful business, for instance. You need to hire people, rent a room to work in, do paperwork, and juggle all these things simultaneously. Even the smartest chemist is doomed to fail the enterprise if he cannot communicate with his employees, understand their problems, and assist them as a supervisor.

If you aim for obtaining broad knowledge, you should allot time to all subjects in your curruculum, yet this time investment may not be worth it. There is no way you will use experience in all existing topics in your life. For example, if you want to get a Noble Prize, you do not need to learn mammals’ psychology together with physics. There is no award for “knowing everything", so to win the award, you must focus on a specific field, become great in it, and invent something new. Attempts to embrace a multitude of subjects will always be a waste of time on something you will never need. Therefore, it is sufficient to specialize in one field of study to succeed.

By the same token, the lack of precise focus can be harmful for your budget. To get broad knowledge, you have to buy books, hold experiments, or hire a tutor. All the mentioned activities cost money, and if you try to embrace many subjects, you will have to pay for each of them. It would definitely be better to specialize in one field and spend money on comprehending every aspect of it, instead of trying to take a bite of everything.

Summing up, having a broad knowledge of many academic subjects can be either beneficial or detrimental. For a businessman, understanding all aspects of his company is vital, but for a common scientist dispersing on many subjects is usually a waste of money and time.