It is better to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, a tremendous amount of information is available for almost any field of study. Moreover, with the increasing curiosity of human minds, and new innovations, experts are able to develop new innovations and add to the reservoir of knowledge. In such times, I believe it is crucial to specialize in one particular field of study rather than trying to touch the surface of all. I feel this way for several reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, one can get an in-depth understanding and make ground-breaking discoveries only when one has all the required knowledge of a subject. It is necessary to be conversant with the development made to date in order to explore new dimensions and achieve breakthroughs. For instance, Albert Einstein, Newton, Stephen Hawking, etc. devoted their entire life learning the concepts and theories of the universe which allowed them to achieve new heights in their respective field. Similarly, artists such as musicians, painters, novelists, etc. have to go through years of rigorous training and practice before producing their masterpieces. Hardly anyone in such intellectual fields would get fame overnight. Thus, it is a must that a person devotes a significant amount of time and effort to learning the subject they are interested in holistically.

Moreover, there are several limitations that impede the human mind from being an expert or even familiar with many academic subjects. These limitations are one's personal interests, and mental capacity and aptitude to grasp and fathom information from a variety of fields. A person who is not fascinated by the subject is least likely to make any progress or contribute to the knowledge-building process. One has to be motivated from within in order to quench the thirst for knowledge. Also, it may be difficult for all to learn and excel at multiple subjects. Few examples are there in history such as Michelangelo, and Da Vinci who were masters in various fields. However, it is a rare trait.

Some may argue that having a broader knowledge of multiple academic subjects opens up different career options to choose from. Supporters of the given statement may even say that one would be able to contribute readily in any field if they have even the slightest information about how it works. However, what they fail to consider is the pursuit of human beings to solve mysteries by exploring the unknown. It is possible only with a profound knowledge of any given subject. Thus, it is imperative to focus on specializing in a particular subject. After all, being an Ace of something is better than being a jack of everything.

In light of these points, I definitely think that it is a wise decision to master one subject. Keeping in mind the requirement of great knowledge to invent something new, limitations of personal inclinations and mental capabilities, and the ultimate goal of knowledge building, it seems impractical and indefensible to try to be better at multiple subjects.