It is better to have a mentor to advise you in your career than to rely entirely on yourself.

A person's career is more of an amalgamation of what he wants, what interests him and what he expect for himself. A mentor or any other person can only help to a certain extend.

The final choice is always with us. At the end, we are the only one who can understand ourselves better.

I believe self-analysis and finding out the career choices by ourselves works better than any other options.

I hold this opinion because of the below two reasons:

First, if I have to rely only on myself to make any decision, then I will take the responsibility of the task. I will take full ownership, will do my background researches, explore my options, try to find out what fits best with me. I will also try to envision myself with those options. During the entire research, I will have a better understanding of myself and my choices. this understanding ultimately will help me to make the decision. I will have more faith in that decision, hence, more probability of right decision. I remember consulting my mentor while choosing my major in high school. Due to my interest in anatomy, he suggested Biology. I opted to research my options myself and explore many fields of studies. finally, I ended up selecting mathematics as I have a keen interest and acumen in statistics and logical reasoning, which ultimately helped me in finding out my area of interest in computer science and programming.

The second reason for holding this opinion is mentor tends to suggest courses that are widely known, and pay good. they hold so much of experience that they sometimes tend to be more petronizing about the decision they think is best. it is possible that the carrer choice they suggest is best but it is also possible that we do not hold any interest in that. it is also possible that it is not something that we see ourselves in, eventhough we have the interest. I have seen cases where we tend to believe in their judgement and does not listen to our inner voices. I remember selecting machine learning over cloud computing in my final year elective subject because my mentor suggest that machine learning is at boom and I can learn cloud afterwards. Later on, I regretted my decision as I found out that my interest is more inclined towards cloud technologies and I selected a cloud based project as my major capstone project.

it is always helpful to have an expert opinion. but, replying on yourself, digging through the things by yourself helps you to understand yourself, your choices. Eventually, this understanding turns into better decisions.