It is better to study alone than in a group

Some people believe that studying alone is better that studying together. They might argue that understanding materials comprehensively is much easier and it takes less time to study on their own. However, in my opinion, I disagree to these people and maintain that studying together in groups has much more advantages. I will support my viewpoint with following two reasons.

First of all, studying together can help you find out your misunderstandings and correct it. There can be missing knowledges or fallacies in your logic of such topic and subjects. These ignorance and misconceptions have low chance of being find out by your own. For example, my friend who is a medical student told me that when medical students prepare for the national doctor eligibility exam, they reserve an accommodation and study together for a whole week. Because of the large scope of contents to study, they help each other out by asking questions to each other and check their knowledge. Thus, one can utilize the merits of finding their unknown or misunderstood concept by help of their peers.

Second of all, it takes less time to finish studying on a subject together rather than studying alone. By working together, we can divide the contents, master each one’s portion and then merge it together to a collective knowledge. For example, I remember during my university days, I crammed on studying the night before the exams. I was chased by insufficient amount of time so I cooperated with my classmates. We separated the chapters we needed to study, and spent some time studying personally allocated chapters. After each were finished, we teached one another of what we learnt. This lead to a reduction in the time required for studying. Indeed, studying alone to finish a textbook takes “n” times longer than studying with “n” people.

To conclude, it is a controversial topic which answers varies to each individual whether studying alone or studying in a group is better. Some say studying alone has no problem in covering all of the contents and does not take much time. Nevertheless, I disagree to these people and still contend that studying group has more merits because it helps finding your weaknesses and reduces time spent required for studying.