It is difficult for teachers to be both popular (well liked) and effective in helping students learn. Agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that the most improtant goal of a teacher is to educate students. However, it is where the agreement stops. When it comes to a statement that a teacher cannot be both popular and effective in helping students learning, people have different opinions. Personally, I firmly agree with the statement, especially for a high school teacher. Some reasons support my idea is illustrated below.

First, a high school teacher is more likely to be judged or dislike by students because the material he teaches. A high school teacher has to teach students not only academic knowlogy but also personal behaviors. Because students are not fully matured and are still finding the way to fit in the real world, they may lose control easily. Therefore, the teacher has to teach them discipline and be responsible for their own behaivors. However, there is where conflicts come from. Sometimes it is not easy to teach students what kind of behaviors is right and accepted by the society. People see the same thing in different ways based on their experiences and their own perspecitive affect their behaviors. As a result, despite the fact that a teahcer endeavors to teach a student what is good, the student may come into judgement and dislike a teacher when the teacher say something he doesn't agree. For instance, when a teacher holds the same aspect as a student, the student likes this teacher. On the other hand, if the teacher thinks the opposited way as the student and even punished him because his unacceptble behavior, the student hates the teacher.

Secondly, a high school teacher has to be strict to his students because students are not mature enough to concentrate on one thing for a long period. According to a research, the maxium time which a high school student can keep doing on is only half of an hour. Students are easily distracted by other things such as their classmates. In order to remind students to focus on learning, the teacher makes a lot rules in class. Once a rule is broken by a student, he got punishment. How come a student likes a man who punishes him? So obviously, to become both liked and helpful is hard for a high school teacher.

Some people may agrue that there is another way to attract and inspire students in acquiring knowlogy, such as being humorous. Nevertheless, I think a sense of humor is a personality which few teachers can learn from others or reading books. Don't even mention if a teacher makes a joke on a student without thinking carefully only means to attract other students, the student may feel insulted and dislike the teacher.

To sum up, for the two reasons that I mentioned above, I believe it is difficult for a teacher to be popular and helping students learning efficiently, espeically for a high school teacher.