It is generally agreed that society benefits from the work of its members. Compare the contributions of artists to society with the contributions of scientists to society. Which type of contribution do you think is valued more by society? Give specific reasons to support your answer.

Work is an essential part of our lives because it is the machine of our society, and allows us to continue living in this world. Everyone chooses, according to his vocation or, in other cases due to circumstances, how to contribute to our society. Generally speaking, we can identify two big types of occupations with their own contributions: scientific and artistic. From my point of view, scientific contributions are more valued in my society.

First of all, one of the most important concerns of the population, health is responsibility of scientists. The most well-known scientific professionals related to health are the medical doctors who work in hospitals and clinics trying to heal diseases and improve public health. However, there are plenty of scientists that we do not see who dedicate themselves entirely to the extensive task of doing research for the discovery of new vaccines or creation of new medicines to cope with a variety of illnesses. Their contributions are praised by the population because they can save many lives. For example, a few years ago a research team at the University of Texas at Austin made a powerful medicine which is used today to diminish the effects of AIDS. When their research was published, those academics were applauded by the entire world.

Second, advancements in technology are the product of scientific contributions. Astonishing products and softwares have been created due to the dedication of creative engineers. Among them, I can mention: the cellphone, the computer, the internet, and social networks applications. Those inventions have immensely changed our society. For example, with the invention of the Internet, we can have instant high-quality communication with another person in another country in the other hemisphere.

Thirdly, people do not value art as much as science because they deem it as entertainment and not essential. Music, TV shows, and paintings are not among our basic needs. I can live without listening to music. Of course, life would be so much boring without art in our daily routines, but the truth is that we can live without it. Another example that artistic contributions are not as relevant is that artists are generally not well paid. There are many street singers who earn little money. Although there are huge exceptions, such as big celebrities who are well known by the population. Nevertheless, according to research conducted by the National Survey Center, the average salary of artists is 20% lower than those from scientific careers, which agrees with other irrefutable evidence that proves that scientific work is more valued by our society.