It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

The world is, as we all know, huge. Thought it is highly impossible to be aware of all the happenings around the world, it is definitely important to know about some major events around the world even if it is unlikely tat they will affect our daily life. To support my stance, I provide the following views.

First, even if the events have no impact on our daily lives now, it is definitely plausible that similar situation might occur in the near future. Let us take an example of a chronic disease knows as the Swine Flu. Suppose that the flu is prevalent in a foreign country say the United States and we have never heard of the situation before. Since it is a terminal disease, by gaining enough information about the causes of the diseases we can avoid the disease in our country and spread awareness among the fellow citizens. We can also learn of the various prevention methods in case of any unexpected mishaps. In such scenarios, information about the world events can prove out to be a matter of life and death.

Secondly as we gain knowledge about the various events that are popular, it might make a great topic for healthy and fun discussions with friends. The United states government is shut down over Trump's demand to build a walls across Mexico. Even though I am not a US Citizen neither I plan to travel to the states, this would still add to my knowledge of US Politics and can be a great fun topic of discussion with friends.

Another advantage of staying up-to-date with the world's affairs is the learning involved. The events might not directly affect us, but it might affect some acquaintances and our knowledge can prove out to be useful. To state one such scenario, my friend was travelling to California to visit the city. He was completely unaware of the forest fires that had taken place. Since I learnt about it through newspapers, I was able to inform him about the situation and saved him the pain to travel all the way to airport since the airports were shut down.

Many would refute this by claiming that since the events doesn't affect us, we would like to concentrate more on ourselves and our nation which might lead to it's betterment. While this is definitely true, it is debatable. Knowledge about the world events can positively influence us to take steps for ourselves.To support this, I provide an example of one of my friends. My friend John followed a really unhealthy lifestyles and had junk food three times a day.He was suffering from various conditions such as obesity, hair fall, acne. He came to know about this widespread lifestyle of ketogenic diet and intermittent fasting popular in the Europe. Once he gained enough information, he became an avid follower of the same and was able to heal himself within a month.

Someone has rightly said 'Knowledge can never hurt'. While it might seem useless, it might be used at some point. Therefore, I firmly believe that people should always try and be aware of various events throughout the world.