It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation

Nowadays Internet access and public transportation are both essential parts of our society. With fluent Internet access, we can surf hundreds or thousands of websites in one click away, which give us more chance to know the world. And convenient transportation is also beneficial. People can travel in the city faster and save a lot of time. Thus, government should spend more money on which infrastructure is hotly debated. Some people believe that Internet access is more important. However, I disagree with this argument. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will elaborate on in the following passages.

First and foremost, public transportation will have a wider impact on our city. Even in this technology-advanced society, it's normal that some people, like the elderly or people in poverty, don't know how to use Internet or lack the necessary devices. But public transportation is widely used by almost all people in the city, especially those who enroll in low-wage jobs. If we spend more money to improve Internet access, the policy is only beneficial for people who have the money to access Internet. That will definitely widen socioeconomic inequities. Those most in need of a better life are not getting help. In contrast, if we put more money and attention to public transportation, the impact of this money has a wider reach.

Second, transportation is necessary to our daily life. We can endure time without the Internet and transfer to using other traditional media like newspapers or TV. We can still gain knowledge and absorb information around the world, though we may encounter some difficulties. In contrast, if we cannot access transportation, in a large metropolitan area like New York or London, it's hard for us to get anywhere easily and cheaply, which has a larger impact on our daily lives.

Admittedly, Internet access is important to some extent. It can broaden people's horizons or provide them with the latest news. It's necessary for government to spend money on it, but compare to the importance of public transportation, it couldn't be the priority.

To put it into a nutshell, public transportation has a wider impact and is more essential for people' lives, thus I believe that government should spend more money on public transportation instead on Internet.