It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Friendship is a valuable relation which we build with other people in our lives. We make numerous friends from childhood to adulthood. Some believe that it’s more important to keep our old friends while others believe it’s more important to make new friends. In my opinion, I believe it’s more important to make new friends than keeping our old friends throughout.

Firstly, I personally have moved to many places in my childhood and have studied in a number of schools. As I moved to different places and studied in numerous schools, I have had a number of friends during my childhood. So, here more important for me was to make new friends than keeping in touch with the same old friends.

Secondly, as we move further from childhood to adulthood a significant transition in our lives takes place. As a teenager, we enroll ourselves at a college or university where we meet different kinds of people from different races, religion and ethnicity. Consequently, we start building friendly relations with a lot of people may be among our classmates, seniors or someone from a different course. Here also, it’s more important to make new friends in order to make our graduation a memorable one.

Thirdly, as we move to the professional world, we meet our colleagues and seniors at our organization. As a result, we also build a friendship with some people at our workplace which is essential to work co-operatively in a team. Also, after office hours we may hang out and chill with some of our office colleagues to enjoy the rest of the day. So, we can see that even in professional life making new friends play an important role.

However, as we make different kinds of friends, it’s also equally important to maintain a friendship with all friends throughout our lives. But, in reality, we fail to do so as maintaining friendship equally with all the friends is quite impossible in our daily life which is hectic and monotonous. For, example a friend in school may not be as valuable as a friend in office to someone during his adulthood.

In conclusion, as we see the process of friendship throughout the entire life-cycle of an individual, we find that an individual has numerous friends throughout his life but fails to maintain the bond of friendship equally with every friend which is also practically not possible today. Also, old friends do not stay together in the entire life. At some point of time, old friends may get separated for various reasons.