It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that education has revolutionized the world with many technological breakthroughs and medical advancements. In this regard, colleges and universities are of paramount importance as they play a vital role in providing knowledge to students. However, there are different schools of thought among scholars on whether it's essential to provide conceptual knowledge, or it's critical to lay the foundation by providing factual information. As for this writer's opinion, I would agree with the notion that learning concepts and practical knowledge are far better for students. In what follows, I will delve into the most crucial reasons to substantiate my viewpoint.

The first reason corroborating my stance is associated with the idea that when students learn concepts and clarify ideas they perform better in the classroom and gain more depth of knowledge. Since students are not merely memorizing the facts, they ponder over the subjects that provide them better knowledge and better understanding. By the way of illustration, five years ago, when I was in pharmacy college. My pharmacology professor gave me an assignment on drugs acting on the parasympathetic nervous system. I tried hard to memorize the facts from books though I learned all the information from the book, I failed the exam as I could not recall them on the day of the assignment. Then, I went to my professor to get help, he helped me to comprehend the topic by spending his time. In the next exam, I got the highest score in the Parasympathetic nervous system drugs. My example clearly manifests the importance of understanding concepts.

The second compelling rationale behind my opinion is rooted in the fact that understanding concepts will lay the foundation of achievements and advancements in the world. To be more specific, learning concepts are like constructing the foundation of a building. These are the basic and general information that is developed to create a bigger picture. Take the example of the theory of relativity and gravity, those were the basic ideas but their understandings have changed the infrastructure of science. Not only human explored the earth, but also reach to the moon and other planets by launching spaceships and other airways. If Albert Einstein had not understood the concept of falling the apple on the ground, we would not have developed the rockets, airplanes, and other space-related vehicles.

By perusing the above paragraphs, one can infer that the learning concept has innumerable advantages over memorizing factual information. For the sake of brevity, few points are worth reiterating. First, It will enhance the students' knowledge. Second, it is the core of development and progress.