It is more important to work at a job that you enjoy than it is to earn a lot of money.

The ultimate concept is that we work for money. But when money becomes the only and only driving factor between us and our job, the resulting scenario can turn rather unpleasant. "Love what you do and do what you love," that is what my mantra is. Hence, I list down few points below that can help to explain my take in support of the notion.

To begin with, I believe the less self-motivated one is, the lesser efforts one is likely to put into his work. Imagine waking up every single day and going to work at a job that you dislike. Eventually, this will turn frustrating enough to lose all your self-motivation. A few days back, I was talking to a friend when she mentioned her growing disinterest at her work. As she never wanted to be a manual quality analyst but a data scientist, she sounded highly demotivated with her quality analyst role for a higher salary hike. She concluded by agreeing that it was a wrong decision on her part when she had chosen money over her interest.

Secondly, keeping ourselves updated on the new advancements made in our work domain can never be neglected. But a person who works only for money will hardly agree to invent his time on learning and exploring his field of work. Additionally, this can be because of his ignorance about understanding that his job is his road to self-development as well. As a software engineer myself, it is of utmost importance to keep up with new technologies in our industry for the mutual benefit of the employer and the employees. Yet, for example, a handful of individuals, who least enjoy their work, refuse to invest a few extra hours on self-education and ultimately put an end to their career growth.

Last by not least, individuals who do not enjoy their work are often very critical about both their job and workplace. They end up complaining even about little things like the grinder in the coffee machine and end up blaming others when they are unable to perform up to the standards. Since they lack interest, they spend time everywhere but their work. For instance, we have often heard about those employees who take unnecessary long lunch breaks or brag around the office about their efforts, pretending to have worked their fingers to the bone.

The inference is simple. If one enjoys the work, one is motivated to give most of one's efforts rather than an individual who is just working for money. The former brings out the best results. And indeed, these results positively influence his career graph.