It's better to watch serious movies to get deeper thoughts than to watch movies that amuse or entertain you.

Nowadays, movie industry develops in a high speed. More and more excellent movies have shown before audiences. Movies could divide as two kinds, the first one is serious movies which tried to teach people some things for their lives. The other one is entertaining movies which made audiences feel relaxed. Some people like serious movies, however others like entertaining movies. For my perspective, I prefer to watch entertaining movies. Here is my reasons.

For one thing, the main purpose for audiences to watch movie is relaxed themselves instead of have more thinking. After a whole day’s working, people would feel terrible if they see some wrenching film. Can you stand to have another class in the movie theater after working? Take one of Chinese director as an example. The director’s movies always in a woeful style, and he has few fans since most of audiences cannot appreciate his woeful films. As a result, he are not famous and he did not even get any prize by his films.

For another, serious movie may lose audiences’ interests and cause less and less audience willing to watch movie. For some audience who do not like serious movie, too much serious movies take place entertaining movies made them feel bored. They would not go to movie theater frequently. It is bad for the opening of the theaters, meanwhile it may even influence the development of movie industry in a bad way. Without enough economic support, there would be little excellent movie in the future, the movie industry would be trapped in a vicious circle.

We have to admitted that some fantastic movies made audiences thinking and laugh at the same time. Such as Green Book and movies directed by Xu Zheng. However, I still believe the main purpose for audiences watching movies is relaxed themselves.

On balanced, people watch movies for relaxed instead of thinking, too serious movie may lose audiences interests and cause less and less people willing to go to movie theater. Since such is the case, I prefer to watch entertaining movies.