It's a waste of money for Government to fund space travel or space

exploration.

Space travel seems to be a charming dream for some fanatic space fans. And actually some countries on earth are spending an extremely large amount of money on space exploration due to various reasons. Therefore, it's natural to discuss whether such investment is worth or not. From my standpoint, the fund used for space travel or space exploration is totally a waste of money, and the examples and details below can support my opinion.

Admittedly, some people may insist on the fact that due to server environmental problems such as the depletion of energy storage, significant climate change and atmosphere pollution, our only home - the earth is becoming increasingly unsuitable for human to live. Consequently, it is extremely urgent for humankind to find an alternative planet to dwell and pass down our civilization. Such statements seem very plausible at first glance, more considerations, however, should be taken into account, especially when dealing with such a wealth of money.

This first key weakness of investing government fund in space project is that it requires too much but its chance to succeed is limited as well. Specifically, it costs a great deal money and efforts for a government to launch even a single spacecraft to the space. And resulting from the limitation of current level of technology, it is highly possible to lose instead of paying off. For instance, although China has become one of the most powerful countries with state-of-the-art astronomical technologies, it still fails in the last two spacecraft launch. Therefore, such great investment on a indecisive project should be carefully measured concerning its inputs and outputs.

Moreover, except the concern of its cost, another reason why I support it is a waste of money is that there are more pressing issues that also needs attention and funding supports. For the first stage, some countries, especially undeveloped countries, are facing a crisis of starvation. Therefore, spending money primarily on tackling the food shortage crisis might be a more practical and urgent action. Also, the money could be harnessed to improve the industry so as to stimulus the economy, which would definitely raise people's living standards greatly. Consequently, because governmental fund has other more pressing and pragmatic uses, it is unnecessary to spend it on space travel or space exploration.

In conclusion, government should not fund space projects because they are unrealistic and far-reaching. Perhaps the money saved could be used in other areas that are in significant need, like agriculture and industrialization.