The food people ate in the past was healthier than the food people eat today

Meals are an inevitable part of people’s life, and it’s a common debate concerning whether food in the past was healthier among the mass. From my standpoint, I am convinced this statement is totally correct with my concerns on pollution, additives and freshness in the modern society.

First of all, I assert that previous food was healthier because there was evidently less pollution decades ago. With the spread of industrialization, countless changes have been made both to the humankind and to the environment. Among all of them, the most pressing issue undoubtedly is the pollution. At the same time that more plants and factories are built, more water is polluted and more soil is contaminated. And all the pollution would have serious problem to us. For example, fishes living in contaminated water might become toxic and crops grow up in the field may contain some elements which is detrimental to body health. Therefore, since the produces could be severely affected by the contamination, food safety and reliability is a great challenge for all of us.

Besides the factor of pollution, another reason why I am convinced food in the past is healthier is that the increasing use of food additives. As the chemistry industry booms, businessmen now obtain abundant options now to render their commodities more appealing and tasty. For example, my father always tells me that the toasted chicken in the supermarket now look much more attractive and taste absolutely better, but its great taste is unnatural. So he believes there must are some additives whose impacts on bodies are unknown to the consumers and customers. Consequently, since it’s completely possible for the producer or seller of food to secretly add some food additives so as to make more profits, that may also do harm to people’s body when digesting them.

Beyond the reason of pollution and food additives, the freshness of food should not be ignored either. With accompany of the refrigerator and the ice producer, people now are capable to extensively expend the storage period of food. So, it comes a universal concern about the food freshness. According to a news report in China Daily, some unethical businessmen once sold meat that was produced three years ago to the market. Apparently, it is hard to tell what types of negative influences the food would have on people’s health.

All in all, I support the statement that my ancestors enjoyed a healthier way on their diet because of the problems of contamination, additives and freshness.