Keeping old friends is more important than making new ones

Friends are the family a person gets to choose. They are essential in several important aspects of everybody's life. While keeping old friends is, in fact, extremely healthy to a person's social life, the most important skill one can have is the ability to make new friends.

First of all, modernity has changed the way we conduct our lives. Fifty years ago, a person usually would be born, study, get a job and get married, all in the same city or in it's vicinities. Nowadays, this situation is very unlikely to happen. The new communications' technologies and the wide range of information avaliable allow us to study in another state, get a job in a different country or meet a person that lives thousands of miles away from our hometown. These major changes in our lives makes the ability to make new friends very usefull, and the people who try to stick only to old friends will tend to get lonely.

Moreover, even if a person gets to live in the same city for long periods of his/her life, it may be really difficult to socialize with the same people for that long. That is because the others will too either move somewhere else or get jobs, classes or relationships that will make it difficult for them to spend time with old friends. This is an aspect of everyone's lives, and the reason is the modern way of living.

To top it all, even though old friends are often considered to be the best friends a person can have, the fact is that when we are kids, we don't have much choice when bonding with other children. Most friendships made during childhood are circumstancial, since we don't get to choose where or who we want to hang out with. Kids make friends with other kids in school, in their neighbourhoods or with their parent's friends. On the other hand, an adult has the opportunity to choose a friend that has similar qualities and other things in common. Therefore, friends made during the adulthood are more likely to become better friends than the old ones.

In other words, while it is not unreasonable to value the importance of keeping old friends in our lives, making new friends is more important in order to stablish a healthier social life, specially in the modern days, when the new way of life we have adopted drives us to different places every time we make a major choice.