A large number of students feel more excited about classes in which they can openly talk to the teacher, and the lectures are at a minimum. On the other hand, some students believe that a class that includes more lectures and less open discussions is a better idea. In your opinion, which of the two alternatives is the best? To substantiate your response, utilize precise motivations and instances.

The time in university is one of the most important periods of our life because this time will help us to learn a lot of thinks and help us in our future career. I believe that it is better to have classes with open discussion and almost no lecture. Discussion helps students to improve various skills such as communication, public speaking, and it also helps students broaden their horizons.

First, open discussion helps students to learn how to interact with their fellow students. Doubtlessly, such interaction with other people helps students to widen their mindset and learn others’ perspectives. All in all, it will enrich your personality. For instance, during my first semester of graduate study, I had attended history which includes all discussion classes. In the beginning, I thought that open discussion would not be beneficial to lean but that was not true. One day, we were talking about the Muslim tradition origin and my friend, Ali, who was born in Turkey gave us a lot of information about the Muslim custom, habits, and their different religion. This helped me incredibly to understand their mindsets. For example, I knew why they are not allowed to eat pork. As you can see, an open discussion will help you understand better other people's points of view.

Second, open discussion in class will help students to become independent thinkers and speakers. These skills are valuable for any career. For example, in the past, I was really afraid of public speaking. However, the history of my first semester was really helpful to overcome my fear of public speaking. In order to get good grades, we were forced to participate in the discussion. I overcome my anxiety and started speaking in discussion and it was easier than expected. It also helped me become an independent thinker and put my idea in front of others. This experience taught me that is better to attend classes with open discussion because it provided me abilities of public speaking which is really important for my future career.

In conclusion, based on my experiences I strongly believe that open discussion and no lectures are preferable because it helps to understand other perspectives, and it provides skills of public speaking.