Many people dream of owning their own business but are afraid of the risks, instead of

starting a new business, however, one can buy a franchise. A franchise is a license

issued by a large, usually well-known, company to a small business owner. Under the

license, the owner acquires the right to use the company's brand name and agrees to sell

its products. In return, the franchising company receives a percent of the sales.

A franchise businesses problem for first-time business owners is finding reliable suppliers of the goods

and services they need: equipment, raw materials, maintenance, etc. It is easy to choose

the wrong supplier, and doing so can be costly. Buying a franchise eliminates much of

this problem. Most franchising companies have already found reliable suppliers, and

franchise contracts typically specify which suppliers are to be used. is challenged protects

franchise owners from the risk of serious losses.

Another advantage of a franchise is that it can save a new business a lot of money on

advertising. Advertising one's product to potential customers is a crucial factor in a

business's success. A franchise owner, however, sells an already the and recognized

brand and also gets the benefit of sophisticated and expensive advertising paid by the

parent company.

Finally, a franchise offers more security than starting an independent (non-franchise)

business. The failure rate for starting independent businesses is very high during the

first few years; the failure rate for starting franchises is much lower. Finding one's own

way in today's competitive business environment is difficult, and buying a franchise

allows an inexperienced business owner to use a proven business model.

The reading and the lecture are both about the advantages and disadvantages of franchising. Whereas the author of the reading passage states that franchise business is an appropriate, profitable business because of its reliability, reduced advertising costs, and the high security, the lecturer repudiates them. The lecturer casts doubts on the three main points are made in the reading by providing three cogent reasons.

To begin with, even though the author mentions that purchasing a franchise can eliminate the business owners’ problems for goods supplying, the lecturer rebuffs the idea. She discusses that many franchise companies force their store owners to buy their goods which are not necessary. Thus, the author’s idea is challenges by the lecturer.

Another thing is that, according to the reading passage, franchise saves a new business much money on advertising; However, the lecturer mentions that new businesses have to pay around 6 percent of their profits to the franchising company. As well as, the direct consequence of advertising is related to the franchise company, not the new businesses. Furthermore, advertising can be applied y little budget instead of utilizing franchise. Therefore, this idea is problematic.

Last but not least, although the arguer mentions that a franchise provides more security in comparison with the new sovereign businesses, the lecturer disagrees with the statement. She mentions that according to the various statistics, independent business owners have twice successful than franchise businesses. Hence, this idea is challenged by the lecture.

To wrap things up, the reading and lecture are both about the pros and cons of the franchise, the three main points made by the author are challenges by the lecturer effectively.