Many people value long-lasting friendships. Which ONE of the following qualities do you think is most important for determining whether a friendship between two people will last a long time? Why?

• They always help each other in a crisis or when something goes wrong.

• They have similar interests and similar views on important topics.

• They trust each other completely.

As we all know, human beings are social animals, and the biggest enemy in our lives is alienation. Thus, it is beneficial to possess a long-lasting friendship. Nevertheless, when comes to this topic, a general controversy arises. Some people reckon that friends who have similar interests with us enable the friendship to last for a long time, while others hold a different viewpoint that trust determines the quality of friendship. As far as I am concerned, I believe friends who always give hands to us whenever we are facing a crisis are the prerequisite for a long-lasting friendship.

In the first place, as a renowned saying goes, "a friend in need is a friend indeed". In a long-lasting friendship, a good friend can offer some assistance to you when you are facing either an emotional crisis or a financial crisis. To illustrate, when you are enduring too much pressure caused by earning money and living, a genuine friend will be willing to sit beside you and listen to your complaints with patience. In front of this kind of friend, you can vent your emotions with ease and never need to pretend to be another person. When you are imposed too much financial burden resulting from the expensive fee of renting a room or you need some money for some urgent affairs, this type of friend will be enthusiastic about your difficulties and spare no efforts to aid you to escape from this terrible situation. With this kind of friendship, you can not only share happiness but also sorrow.

On the other hand, although it is undeniable that we can enjoy a lot of pleasure with friends who possess similar interests and viewpoints to us, the interest can change as we age. For example, when I and a friend were in primary school, we were indulged in the magical world created by the Harry Potter series. But after entering the university, our interests enormously changed. I prefer spending time reading psychological research papers, while my old friends would like to invest more time and energy in photography. Thus, we were not able to express our ideas efficiently anymore, and the friendship even eventually faded off.

In addition, we have to admit that trust is like the concrete frame of architecture, without which any friendship cannot be generated. Nevertheless, the fact that we attach great importance to trust does not justify that trust is the only and the most essential element of a friendship. Sometimes, the circumstance that a friend who totally trusts you but does not do any further action to provide help to you can hurt your heart more severely. A friend who only has trust cannot help you grapple with a crisis emerging from life.

In a nutshell, we ought to make more emphasis on the significance of possessing friends that assist us when we are mired in troubles since this type of good companion can not only relieve our loneliness and pressure but also light the candle when we are walking in the darkness.