Many people value long lasting friendships Which ONE of the following qualities do you think is most important for determining whether a friendship between two people will last a long time Why They always help each other in a crisis or when something goes

As we all know, human beings are social animals, and possessing a long-lasting friendship is beneficial to us. Nevertheless, when it comes to this topic, a general controversy arises. Some people reckon that friends with the same commonality of interests enable the friendship to last for a long time, while others hold a different viewpoint that trust provides the foundation for a long-lasting friendship. As far as I am concerned, I believe friends who always give hands to us whenever we are facing a crisis are the prerequisites.

In the first place, as a renowned saying goes, "a friend in need is a friend indeed". A genuine friend can do a favor for you when you are facing either an emotional crisis or financial trouble, paving the way for the continuity of the relationship. To illustrate, when you are enduring too much pressure caused by earning money and living, this type of friend will be willing to sit beside you and listen to your complaints with patience. In front of him, you can vent your emotions with ease. When you are imposed too much financial burden, such as the expensive rental fee of an apartment, or you need some money for urgent affairs, this quintessential friend will put in your shoes and spare no efforts to help you to escape from this awful condition. With this kind of friendship, you can not only share happiness but also sorrow.

On the other hand, although it is undeniable that we can enhance the bond with friends with similar interests and viewpoints, this circumstance can change as we age. For example, when I was in primary school, a friend and I were obsessed with the magical world created by J.K. Rowling, the author of the Harry Potter series. We always talk about the plots and characters day and night. But after entering the university, our interests enormously changed. I preferred doing some in-depth psychological research in my spare time, while my old friend was more committed to photography. After that, we were not able to exchange our ideas and interact with each other enthusiastically anymore, and the friendship gradually lost its spark after a while.

In addition, we must admit that trust is usually a cornerstone of a relationship, which can enhance a mutual friendship. Nevertheless, the fact that we attach great importance to trust does not justify that trust is the only and the most critical element of a friendship. Sometimes, a friend who totally trusts you but does not do any further action to lend a helping hand can hurt your heart more severely, thereby exposing more vulnerability to this relationship and eventually ruining it.

In a nutshell, we need to emphasize the significance of possessing friends who assist us when we are mired in trouble. This type of good companion can not only relieve our loneliness and pressure but also light the candle for us when we are walking in the darkness.