Many people visit museums when they travel to new places. Why do you think people visit museums. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It’s pretty hard to distinguish the role museums play in peoples’ lives. Some time ago they were commonly considered a thing of the past serving only for previous generations. Nevertheless, these days museums appear to become more popular among young people which happens due to a proper advertising company sponsored by authorities. But we’re not prone to cherishing illusions – museums will never achieve the same level of favor as other entertainment activities like soccer or cinema.

Interestingly, when it comes to travelling, almost every single person goes to the local museum with such urgency that it seems to be his direct obligation, rather then a possible pastime. As far as I am concerned, this phenomenon has extremely plain reasons.

First of all, foreign museums are more intriguing to visit as they are the perfect reflection of the local culture which we want get familiar to. The most significant national achievements are likely to be exhibited there. There is no need to mention that even a simple incogitant visit broadens one’s horizons. Secondly, visiting museums is in some way a symbol of maturity, and people believe it would be a shame if they didn’t go to museum. Sounds really silly, but still even a mindless visit is a certainly good thing. Personally, I am keen on studying art as it is a great joy to know the history, to understand the artist’s intentions. Sometimes understanding a piece of art also requires loads of intellectual resources which makes observance even more pleasant. At last, museums turn out to be a kind of a shelter where people escape from rough weather conditions like heavy rain or annoying sun.

In conclusion, after contemplating the reasons which were mentioned before, taking all the facts into account, I reinforce my conviction that museums are irreplaceable cultural centers which raise the historical and art awareness of population in the most proper way any of the sources can provide.