Some people prefer to live in small town. Others prefer to live in a big city. Which place would you prefer to live in? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

The notorious “living” question has been baffling people since the time large cities were built. And there is no certain answer – every person himself has to think through every factor he considers important and make the decision where he wants to live: in a small town or in a big city.

As for me, a native Moscow citizen, my preferences are quite obvious, I can’t imagine myself without constant action and movement, which are so common for Moscow. It won’t be an exaggeration to say that my life rhythm is only possible in cities that never sleep. However, the ease of my choice lies not only at a habit, but more at inability of small towns to conform my demands.

The first and most noticeable drawback of small towns are in terms of privacy and personal space. To be honest, I really can’t stand places (communities) where people know everything about each other. It leads to inevitable rumors and necessity of chatting with your neighbors. Moreover, you stay under constant pressure where any of actions can result in an outrage of a society with no way to escape.

Besides that, there are several factors that only relate to living conditions only from practical point of view: small towns have limited variety public places dedicated for entertainment purposes. Despite me being a quite reserved person, I want to spend time outside with my friends from time to time, and the absence of places to go to would certainly drive me crazy. In addition, small towns usually suffer from poor infrastructure development which make them extremely vulnerable to all kind of emergency situations.

And, to cap it all, it is essential to say that essay topic is relevant for people coming from countries with high standards of living. Otherwise, essay turns into a weird IQ test as only a foolish person would prefer Saransk to Petesburg.