National governments can take a variety of actions to help protect the natural environment. Which ONE of the following three actions do you think is MOST important for a nation's government to take to protect the natural environment and why?

- Fund research to develop environmentally friendly energy sources such as solar or wind power

- Preserve natural places such as forests and protect native wildlife species(animals) that live there

- Pass and enforce laws to prevent the pollution of air and water by big companies and industries.

Nowadays, although we have witnessed the unprecedented accumulation of material affluence, we have also been suffering from pollution and other environmental issues caused by high-speeding industrialization. Solutions to these problems are underway to address, led by the government. At this moment, general controversy arises. Some people contend that it is more helpful to develop cutting-edge technology and new energy sources to conserve the environment, while others hold a reverse viewpoint that the government ought to push the enaction and implementation of laws related to the environment. As far as I am concerned, preserving natural places and wildlife species should play a more critical role in the process.

In the first place, the conservation of natural places such as forests and animals can efficiently exert beneficial effects on the environment in a long term. As we all know, with the pervasiveness of greenhouse effects and urban heat islands effects, we should attach greater importance to plants and shrubs. They are capable of absorbing carbon dioxide emitted by factories and vehicles. What's more, they are also of great importance to reduce the soil loss rate and can accelerate the cycle of both water and air. Besides, wildlife like some endangered animals can maintain biodiversity and gene diversity. Without them, our human beings will not only possess an unstable environment, and even lose some critical genes that may deliver benefits to the development of medicine and sanitation system.

In addition, protecting some wild places and wild animals can facilitate the education of the masses. Most time, people do not have a comprehensive understanding of the environment where they live. Visiting the places that have been preserved, people are granted some chances to have some direct contact with the wildlife and are enabled to grasp a clearer view of nature. Moreover, these environmentally friendly practices can not only awaken the consciousness of protecting the environment but also can reinforce their awareness of taking actual actions to preserve our nature. Take me as an example. Last week, I went to a wildlife conservation area with my friends. Not only we enjoyed the accompany of wild animals and plants, but also, we enriched our knowledge of the meaning of protecting them. Finally, we decided to contribute to the project, donating our money and doing some volunteer activities.

Admittedly, allocating money for research aimed at developing renewable energy sources and enforcing laws also function well sometimes. Environmentally friendly energy can directly reduce the exhaust and emission of greenhouse gases and toxic gases, and environment-related law can forcibly reduce the release of pollution to some extent. But it is also unavoidable that both practices cost a vast amount of time, money, and energy, and they cannot prompt people to change their behaviors enormously from the bottom of their hearts.

In a nutshell, protecting natural places and wildlife species is supposed to be emphasized in the process of protecting the Earth, the hometown of all human beings. If we want to safeguard the green planet, what we should pay more attention to is the creatures it has already proliferated.