Nowadays a lot of students use technology like computers and smartphones for doing school work. Some teachers believe that we should not limit students because it is an effective way of learning. Others claim that we should limit students’ use of these devices. Which one do you agree with?

Nowadays, the advancement of technology is taking place so quickly and its effects on modern life are inevitable. Utilizing high-tech devices is widespread along different groups of people and students are not exempt from this fact. However, some instructors believe that students should not use modern devices for doing their assignments, others believe otherwise and support using these kinds of technologies. I concur with the latter group for two main reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, it is crystal clear that the enhancement of technology provides access to a wide range of information for all people. So, restricting the access of students to this valuable information is a big obstacle to their learning process. In today’s life, thanks to the improvement of technology, specifically in the education field, students can get access to new methods of learning from online courses to virtual physics and chemistry labs, and in this way, they can understand scientific concepts more effectively. Take a personal experience as an example; when I was in high school, I remember that I had serious problems with some parts of physics because the lab of our school did not have enough pieces of equipment for doing practical experiments and the teachers should try to explain some experiments without doing them. The more they explained, the more I became confused because could not imagine the situation which they had explained. Eventually, in university, I got a chance to do those experiments, and after more than four years, I understood my teachers' meaning and became able to solve my misconceptions about high school physics. But now, my younger brother studies in the same high school that I did, due to the improvement of technology, he can easily connect to the school virtual lab and do any kind of physics experiment without any limitation.

In addition, no one can cast a shadow of suspicion on this notion that cutting trees down has a catastrophic effect on the planet, because, they are the lungs of the earth and the most important source of producing oxygen. So, finding alternative ways for decreasing the need to demolish the trees is crucial. Indeed, doing homework using modern devices can be a proper substitution way that has some environmental benefits like decreasing the demand for paper and therefore for cutting trees. To put it into a more vivid picture, in the past, students needed to buy notebooks for each lesson and they also had plenty of books, pencils, and other stuff. Cutting down many trees was needed for providing these wooden base materials. But nowadays, students can use E-books instead of printed materials and do their assignments by software like paint or Microsoft Word which leads to less use of paper and consequently less need to cut trees.

By taking into account all the above reasons and so many others, I believe that access of students to modern technology should not be limited. That is because such devices help students to understand their lessons better, and also due to reducing the demand for paper are useful for the environment.