Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

It is no secret that group assignments make a significant contribution to developing some positive characteristics in children. In fact, it paves the way for students' effective learning. In this regard, the inevitable question which has always caused heated debate among people is that whether all members of a group must be given the same score, or it is not a fair evaluation method for grading students. From my vantage point, since the performance of each student in a group is not the same and, some of them might make a considerable contribution compared with other members, it can culminate in a sense of unfairness among students so that it is not a good assessment strategy. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into two conspicuous reasons to elaborate on my standpoint.

The most significant point to be mentioned is that providing students with the same score, when they work as a team on a certain project, can make students unmotivated. Furthermore, when students receive the same score with those students who do not make an effort, students can interpret that hardworking students and lazy ones are not distinguished and, there are not any differences between them which can make students discouraged to dedicate enough time to work on group assignments. Take a personal experience as an example, I used to have a friend in high school who did her best in carrying out group projects. In working on a specific group project, when she found out all members of a group will receive the same mark, she gave up on working hard on the project. Had not she become demotivated, she would have devoted more time to the project and learned more things.

Another paramount reason which should be referred to is that giving the same score to all members of a group and do not distinguish them from each other can lead to some psychological problems in students. Accordingly, a ground-breaking study, which has been conducted in my hometown recently, revealed that when students encounter unfairness in schools, it brings about deleterious mental problems in students which can affect their future lives.

To recapitulate, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that students should not be evaluated with the same score in group assignments, for it not only makes students unstimulated to do their tasks, but also triggers some irreversible mental problems in children. As far as I am concerned, I recommend that teachers differentiate between good and bad performances and not assess them with the same score.