People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who focus on one skill only. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, human beings have been perpetually concerned about the ways to succeed. In modern era, hard work and constant effort make a significant contribution to individuals' success. In this regard, the inevitable question which has always caused heated debate among people is that whether those people who have multiple skills can climb the ladder of success, or individuals who just concentrate on a specific skill are more likely to become successful. From my vantage point, developing different skills provides individuals with some opportunities. However, notwithstanding all its advantageous consequences, it can deprive people of achieving success. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into two conspicuous reasons to elaborate on my standpoint.

The most significant point to be mentioned is that since being a professional in a certain field of study can culminate in more job opportunities, it leads individuals to gain success. In other words, if people focus on one skill to improve, they will become proficient which can open myriad job opportunities for them. Take a personal experience as an example, I used to have a friend who was interested in working with software, so she made effort with improving her skill. Although she had no other sufficient skills to find promising jobs, she was hired by a well-known company. Had not she allocated considerable time to improving her computer skill and spent her time developing multiple skills, she would have not taken advantage of her special capability to be hired.

Another paramount reason which should be referred to is that due to becoming an expert in a certain field is an achievable goal than becoming proficient in various fields, individuals are more likely to attain success when they focus on one skill. Accordingly, a ground-breaking study, which has been conducted recently, revealed that contrary to popular belief being knowledgeable in various domains is implausible. Consequently, in order to become successful people should improve their knowledge in a certain domain.

To recapitulate, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that focusing on one skill to improve plays a pivotal role in individuals’ success than dedicating time to improving different skills, for it not only provides them to be offered well-paid jobs, but also leads them to more probably achieve success. Hence, I recommend that people do their best to become professionals in one skill.