Nowadays, many movies or films are based on books. Some people prefer to read the original book before they watch the movie, other prefer to watch the movie before reading the book. Which one do you prefer?

The movie industry has witnessed an unprecedented boom during recent years with endless movies coming into view. Among the ample supply of movies, many are based on original books, which provides the general public two choices about the order of reading books and watching movies. Some prefer to watch the movie followed by reading the book. According to my preference, I would like to read the original book first.

The primary reason for my stance is that by reading the original book, I am allowed to let my imagination run wild. To illustrate, the original book shows us the detailed plots without displaying the specific characters on screen or through pictures. Therefore, we are free to imagine without the constraints of movies. Conversely, characters in the movies have already been chosen and designed including their facial expressions, body language and even dressing styles, which leaves us few chances to make full use of our imagination and curiosity to think logically. It is no wonder that giving priority to the original books provides us with more fun, for it is imagination that contributes to happiness.

Another factor tempts me to make such a choice is that I will have a deeper understanding of what is hidden behind the movie after reading the book. As we all know, movies are always adapted, some details of which are unavoidably deleted owing to the limitation of time. Accordingly, it is highly possible that some plots and lines are too abstract to understand. The original book, on the other hand, clearly explains the background, hence not giving rise to confuse. I always have a glimpse of the original books before reading the adapted movies, with A Dream of Red Mansions a clear case in point. The book A Dream of Red Mansions mainly describes a touching love story between Jia Baoyu and his cousin Lin Daiyu, which begins and ends in a luxurious mansion. Hardly could I understand why Lin Daiyu always quarreled with Jia Baoyu in the movie if I did not take time to read the book.

Frankly speaking, movies are short enough for us to make a quick decision about whether it is to our taste and whether it is worth reading the original book. But as mentioned above, movies are adapted more often than not, which cannot serve as the determining factor of whether the original book is a good one.

To sum up, reading the book before watching the movie is definitely a more preferable choice, for it will beget imagination and curiosity as well as a deeper comprehension.