Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

What is the relationship between one's number of friends and his happiness? Do more friends and thus making new friends make one happier? Or is the maintenance of a number of old friends more crucial? Answers vary from one person to another. From my point of view, I think the ability to make many new friends play a far more important role keeping one happy than the ability to keep small number of old friendships over a long time. My position is supported as follows:

First, keeping friends with a small group of people over time is far more difficult than making many new friends, rendering people less prone to happiness. We all know that things and life always change and friends meet and get separate easily over time. To attempt to keep friendship with old friends can take up a lot of time and effort that colors the quality of one's happiness. For instance, I now barely talk to my friends that I made in the U.S. because it is simply harder for us to get in touch and to know and understand each other's situation. I rarely try to gain happiness from such connection because it consumes too much of my energy. I would rather prefer to talk with my current friends because they are in physical proximity with me and know my situation generally well. There is fewer barrier of time and space, making me prone to seek happiness from my new friends Therefore, the ability to make many new friends is more important for one's happiness.

Secondly, happiness is a product of novelty, which is produced more likely from new friendship rather than old friendships. With new friendship comes fresh and new things that bring excitement and joy to people. Making many new friends who share similar interests with you can greatly multiply such effects and bring people tremendous happiness. In contrast, with old friends, since you have known them fairly well, there is relatively little amount of new information being exchanged from each other during communication, resulting in boredom and dryness. Such condition damages the quality of friendship and causes people less prone to feel happy.

Admittedly, it is always argued that old, small segment of friendship is real one that enable people to share their secrets and receive authentic empathy from it. However, I point out that such benefit usually comes with the price of a consuming and grinding maintenance of friendship that suck people's energy, leaving them little space for happiness. I mean, to maintain is to share a lot of relevant information so as to let old friends make sense of your ongoing life experience. Compared to such process, new friendship renders it all unnecessary because your new friends know and understand your ongoing circumstances relatively well than old friends. You get more chance of doing fun things and gaining happiness with new friends.

Overall, I argue that the ability to make many new friends is more important for one's happiness than the ability to maintain friendship with a small number of people over time. My reasons are threefold that include the easiness of the first option, its benefit of bringing novelty into one's life that is essential for happiness, and far more chance of doing interesting things together that brings joys.