Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

the contemporary society offers various means of entertainment for people such as movies and television shows, which is very uncommon in old times. Theses means offer some alternatives for relaxation and enjoyment, and they are particularly popular among young people. From my perspective, I think movies and tv do more damage to the young's behavior than benefits. My argument is as follows:

First, most movies and tv programs are profit-driven that exclusively focus on offering nothing except entertainment, disregarding their effects on young people. The purpose of them is fundamentally to make profit, and companies will therefore try their best to attract people and increase box revenues. Under such a drive, it is natural for them to disregard the content of movies and tv shows, as long as it is attractive. A frequent display of violence or vulgarity will be used if it suits such a purpose. Indeed, we can see that violent scenes are not uncommon in action movies. Such display will motivate teenagers and adolescents to copy violent behaviors and show them off.

Second, young people are negatively affected in such a way that they become indulgent. With movies and TV shows bombarding their free and even study time, teenagers find themselves unable to withdraw from such a paradise of leisure and can barely focus on study. We all know that adolescents are in such a developmentally critical period that they lack self-control and independent thinking. They are easily swayed by tv shows and barely squeeze out time to spend on more important issue like study. It is infrequent for us to see that high school students read movies the moment they get back home from school.

Admittedly, movies and television shows do relax stressed-out students and offer them an emotional and mental vent. They might also find connection and receive emphathy from movies. However, such effects are poorly felt because young people are simply psychological immature enough to critically treat movies and shows; instead, they are more likely to be passively influenced by ideas and behaviors displayed in movies that are mostly impermissible in real-life scenes. and simply imitate them.

All in all, I argue that movies and television exert more negative effects upon young people's behaviors than positive effects. My reasons are threefold: they are profit-driven and sacrifice the need of content modification for maximizing enjoyment; adolescents lack of self-control and tend to get indulged in entertainment shows; they are psychologically immature to resist the temptation of imitating behaviors of characters in movies.