It is sometimes better to hide truth or always remain honest?

Nowadays, the traditional virtue of telling the truth is increasingly being doubted. Many believe that telling the truth is not always the best policy when dealing with people. I feel that sometimes it is better to conceal the truth for someone’s sake. I hold this opinion mainly for two major reasons.

Firstly, we all know that the truth often offends people and may not be very pleasing to hear. Lies, on the other hand offer various advantages. The manipulation of these lies is most obvious in the business world. Many times we hear that product is the finest and cheapest. These advertisements are all about persuasion, and many would agree that if companies would tell the absolute truth, then nobody would be interested in their products. The same logic can be applied to human relationships. If a friend of yours had worn a new dress on her birthday and excitedly asked you how it looked, then you wouldn’t break her heart saying that it is not pretty and spoil her birthday.

Secondly, telling small lies can even sometimes motivate people. Humans are very competitive and want to do best in every assigned task. Whether they are involved in the athletic or academic field, they feel motivated to strive for their goals if prompted or encouraged to do so. For instance, once one of my friends was interested in participating in the painting competition and when she asked me if she should take part or not, I told her to go ahead. Although, I was aware of high the competition, she would have to face, but I didn’t tell her about this and told her that she has high probability to be in top ten positions. As a result, she encouraged to take part and started practicing for it.

In conclusion, I would like to reaffirm my point that it is not necessary to always speak truth. There are several benefits associated like encouraging people to do something or not hurting their feelings by telling straight harsh truths. Therefore, due to the aforementioned causes, I would always prefer to conceal truth, possibly if it does any good to anyone.