Behaviour of people depends on external factors and not due to internal factors.

Since the dawn of humanity, the behavior of humans has been regulated by certain codes of conduct and regulations set by society. In this regard, there are conflicting views, as some believe that this behavior is determined by external factors, while some stands on other side of spectrum citing that the way one behave is mainly owned by intrinsic factors. Well, I concur with the latter opinion, a person generally behaves in a way which he thinks is better. I will substantiate my viewpoint by presenting two major reasons and its corresponding examples in the following paragraphs .

Admittedly, the rules and morals set by society have profound effect on our doings. From the beginning of our life we are taught to behave in a way that is acceptable to all. For instance, wishing our elders, importance of being honest, sharing our food etc. As we grow we continue conducting these teaching in our daily life and we do so for our convenience not to gain appreciation from society. Similarly, driving on right side or waiting in a queue, all these actions are done because they offer us certain advantages. We take them granted not for the rules and morals of society but for our own benefits. Hence, final decision to obey these rules lies with us, weather we comply with convention or not. Therefore, the way we behave in society is determined by ourselves.

We as humans learn, watch or absorb things from our external environment but eventually it is us who decides what to do. We solely would be responsible for the consequences. There are laws and acts set by our societies but it depends on individual weather to abide by these rules or not. External forces might compel people to behave in a particular way but as soon as these rules are uplifted people would not behave in that particular way. Taking a situation, for example that in one particular country there is a heavy penalty on littering on roads, as a result people would be cautious about cleanliness. But on contrary if there would not be any rules regarding cleanliness, people will not adhere to keep their environment clean.

We are decision-makers and nobody can make us to do what we do not want to do. People do break laws which is evident from increasing crime rates. A thief will steal in spite of knowing that it is a crime.

In a nutshell, I would like to reaffirm my point that people themselves are responsible for their actions and not the external environment. The external factors may play a part but human action are outcomes of their personal desires and own willingness.