In order to attract more tourists, the government could either improve safety by hiring more police or improve its appearance by repairing old buildings and streets. Which way do you think is more effective?

Governments are responsible for improving the societies’ economic development and thus people’s living standard. Tourism is one of the important industries that can improve the economic development level of a city. From my point of view, government should invest in improving city’s appearance through repairing old buildings and streets instead of enhancing police forces.

It’s true that safety issues are one of the concerns that affects tourists’ travel decision and plan. Especially for international tourists, travelling to a strange city is very challenging and the city have better be safe. However, hiring more police is not the thorough way to improve the safety of a city. It may work for a short time but crime rate is also determined by local people’s living standard and the city’s welfare policy. Actually, improving city’s appearance by repairing city’s historical buildings and streets may also increase the city’s safety because this creates more job opportunities and can improve the tourist industries and thus economic development.

Besides, repairing old buildings is beneficial for preserving the city’s history and culture. Though the old buildings can show they have gone through a long history, as time goes by, they may become dangerous buildings for visiting. Repairing them meanwhile maintaining most of their original characteristics could be the best way to show their history and preserving the history and culture that they represent. The Forbidden City in Beijing is a clear example of old buildings repairment. Palaces in the Forbidden City are built mostly in the 16th century and the paint and wooden structure of them had been aging for hundreds of years. After repairment such as repainting and enhancing the wooden structure, these palaces can be preserved for a much longer time. Now the Forbidden City has become the most famous site in Beijing for tourists. Without repairment these palaces may collapse in an extreme weather like storm in the future, which would be a disaster for culture preservation and tourism industry.

Improving old streets not only help preserve city’s history but also provide convenience to tourists. There are many old streets in China’s cities had been developed into pedestrian streets with local snacks and craft souvenir shops. Tourists can hang around the improved streets, enjoying delicious and special local food and buy souvenirs at the same time.

To sum up, I think it’s more effective for government to invest in improving the city’s appearance through repairing historical buildings and streets instead of enhancing police force.