Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Governments are responsible for improving the societies’ progress through effective investment policies. Both art and sport have been playing important roles in people’s daily life. It is difficult to judge whether art or sport is more important than the other. But considering the popularity’s better acceptance to general sports, it’s easier to positively affect people’s daily life through sponsoring sport projects than art projects. So, from my point of view, I think government should spend more money on sport projects than art projects for the following reasons.

First of all, sponsorship of providing athletics a superior training environment will increase their competitiveness and have great impact on popularizing sport. Commonly, many young people see high level athletics as their idol. These young people are mitivated by their idol to engag in playing sport, for either daily exciersing or becoming a professsional athletics. With either purpose, playing sport is of great importance to people’s health and stress releasing since nowadays, most people are having busy working life. Yao Ming is a clear example of how his competitiveness and achievement has been influencing Chinese people’s passion on playing basketball and Chinese basketball players’ hard training to chase an NBA dream. In his early career, he was followed by the coaches from China’s national team and received sponsorship from the government to play in worldwide training camps and games. Later he was picked by played for Houston Rockets in the NBA for 7 seasons which make NBA become very popular in China. Because of him, more and more people fall in love with basketball and the NBA. His experience and performance encourage many basketball lovers to work hard since their childhood to become professional basketball players.

Secondly, sponsorship of athletics to have the opportunity of playing sports in worldwide games like Olympic games or world cup will be exciting and inspiring. As to the athletics, they gain the chance to compete with high level players and present themselves in front of audiences from all around the world. As to audiences, we have the chance to watch different game style from players of diversified countries. In the 2010 Asian Games, Iraq badminton player Yara attended the game as the only one player in the team, even without coaches. At that time Iraq was in wartime and badminton was not a popular sport in Iraq, the country still provided him the overseas training and sponsorship of attending the Asian Games. Though he lost in his first game, he said the game was encouraging and he will definitely train himself harder to get the chance of attending the future Olympic Games. We, as audiences, had witnessed his courage and insistence.

Finally, sponsorship of providing coach and trainer jobs to retired athletics will playan important role on cultivating athletics of next generation. Retired athletics’ can deliver their competitiveness and experience to the young generation athletics. Their career experience will help their students to decide whether they want to become professional player or just want to have the chance to learn a sport for exercising.

To sum up, the above three reasons are why I think the government should pay more money on supporting sport projects. As a sport lover, I truly hope that the development of sports in my country could be better. Clearly, government sponsorship to sport projects is one of the important ways to develop sports.