Young people today are less dependent on their parents than in the past.

I agree with the statement that young people are more independent on their parents in nowadays than in the past. Young people are living in a more developed society with advanced science and technology, and completed social welfare system that help them to develop independent living, studying and thinking. Besides, young people have realized the importance of independence when raising their kids.

To begin with, young people have much more information sources than before which allow them to improve their independent thinking. With the development of computer and internet, young people now have spent a plenty of time online, using social media like Facebook and Instagram to contact with friends and absorb information from all around the world. My personal experience is a clear example on explaining the impact of internet on my independent decision on my university major. Before I entered university, I did a thorough research on the universities and majors that I was interested in, by directly browsing their website. I learnt the program curriculums and requirements from every university’s website which helped me to decide independently where I would go and have my undergraduate study. In the past, people didn’t have a variety of information sources. When my parents were in high school, the sources that they got to know the universities and majors were mainly their parents, teachers and alumni.

Besides, young people now have more education opportunities because of the development of economy and social welfare system. More and more people can afford university tuition than before. Teachers and parents play very important role in students’ study in primary school and middle school. But regarding to the university study, the subjects are normally more comprehensive and complicated. Thus, young people need to develop independent studying skills such as reading literatures, writing papers and attending field trips.

Furthermore, people have a realization on the importance of independence and thus young people now are raised in a more independent way. An increasing number of parents send their kids to boarding school. Take me as an example again, I attended boarding school since my middle school study. Living in boarding school, I have learnt to dealt with the balance between study and extracurricular activities, communication with roommates and classmates and time management skills. The boarding school experiences were really important to my independence.

To sum up, I think young people have more independent living, studying and thinking in nowadays than in the past.