Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

范文

关闭

Within recent 30 years, our society has witnessed and experienced radical changes in each and every aspect of our life. Under this circumstance, young people are also faced with a wide range of temptations and impacts brought by various objects, from fancy entertainment gadgets, to online pornography and to subversive conception, which is why there are many rules nowadays for youngsters to follow and obey to insulate them from juvenile delinquency. However, some people may wonder whether some of these rules are too strict and serious and whether they should make a compromise. As far as I'm concerned, some rules may be too much and even may do harm to their natural development.

First, some parents may order their children to devote most of their time to study and prevent them from any access to leisure and entertainment. Frequently, parents would have unreasonable expectations of their kids, hoping that they could show an outstanding performance in their school, be admitted into a top-rank university and own a decent career right after graduation. Because of these expectations, they would set a limit on hours on which children could spend watching television and even register for all kinds of extra curriculums to make their children more competent than their peers. But this teaching method will be very detrimental to their beloved sweethearts in that young children's instinct prefers relaxing and exciting games and entertainment to tiring and killing studies and assignments. In the long run, it is likely to turn a kid into a dumb nerd, who has no idea of how to relax and enjoy each moment of life. What's the point of forging a child into an outstanding individual while he loses the fun and joy of life forever and ever?

Second, some parents are likely to forbid their children from puppy love or any form of intimate relationships they may establish with someone they like. Some parents may be afraid that falling into an early-stage romantic relation could be a distraction for their innocent kids, for which they may skip their regular classes to date or even earn a bad grades in their mid-term or final exams. Due to these fears and worries, parents usually curb any of their children's close connection with a boy or a girl in the cradle.

Nevertheless, this is unhealthy to a child's mental development because owning a longtime and steady relationship is an indispensable component in people's life. If children have never had any experience of dealing with the person they have a crush on, they are likely to be sensitive to the other's emotional reaction, thus being emotionally vulnerable when they become an adult. In another word, isolating children from any access to any romantic relationship is too severe for them to follow.

Admittedly, rules sometimes are necessary because they could do good to children's self-discipline and future development. For instance, too much entertainment and leisure could cause a child to indulge himself in it and get addicted; falling in love with another person and thus forming an unhealthy obsession could cost a young child too much and take him a long time to recover. All these incidents just show the necessity of rules and disciplines. But leaving children no time for fun and relaxation is too absolute, arbitrary and even devastating and we should make every effort to stop extremes from happening. In a nutshell, we should avoid those too strict rules and guide our children in a healthy and sustainable way.