Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Children’s education have always drawn parent’s attention whenever we are. They will always happy when we are admitted by our dream school. Due to the change of society, however, the educational pattern has changed over time. Some people notice that modern education require more participation of parents. For me, I’m an advocate of the idea mentioned above.

First, parents always didn’t have the ability to involve in their children’s education even though they would like to. Because of the low developing level of past society, most of the children at that time had no opportunity to enroll in the education. Large proportion of people are illiterate. For example, my grandparents never went to school when they were young. They are virtually incapable of assisting my father’s study. However, both of my parents went to university due to the widespread of compulsory education. As a result, they are able to tutor me. When I was in middle school, my mum helped me solve many thorny math question which had troubled me for a long time. Finally, I got a relative great grades in graduation test. Today, even though my parents can’t understand the language in my textbook, they can still give me some tutorial when I have problem with some knowledge point.

Also, difference in the social fabric and attitudes also attributes to the less participation in the past. Labor-intensive work dominates the type of work people that people usually involved. Most of the work the mass engaged only required physical work rather than brain work, such as farming. As a result, many boys had to give up their study and went into farmland at an early age, when they were supposed to study in the classroom, and girls had to raise their children and do some chores or textile work at home. Thus, neither of them have the ability of tutor their children. Statistics from UN shows that almost 80 percent of people in China were illiterate at 1950s, which was a shocking number, as most of the work at that time didn’t need people to be literate.

Furthermore, fierce competition in modern society forces parents to participate in their children’s education. Some innovative ideas nowadays emphasizes the combination of school and family education. Parents all want their children to have a brighter future. Take my cousin as an example, he is in Grade 1 this year. One of his task in winter vacation is making a poster in English with the assistance of parents. Also, his mother said that they always have such task to complete because the primary school nowadays make an effort to strength the collaboration with family.

For all of the reasons I mentioned above, I believe the parents have more involvement in children’s education in modern society than before.