In the past, people were more interested in improving their neighborhoods than they are today.

As a matter of fact, one of the most important things in a house is its neighborhood. Undoubtedly, people are different these days compare to past. They have new needs and new dreams. In my view, I strongly believe that people in the past were more interested to pay attention to their vicinity.

First and foremost, everybody is busy these days. People have less free time to spend with their families or friends. In the past, people had a simple job and all works were easy to do, but now, each person have to work. Furthermore, if anybody find a free time, he/she would prefer to spend it by new technologies, because last introduced things are really attractive such as smart phones and computers.

Second, job market is competitive nowadays. People have to work hard to survive in a job position. In another word, they do not have much money to spend in their neighborhood. People try to work as hard as they can to provide money for their families. If they get a good money, they will spend it to buy new technologies. In the other hand, people in the past had enough money in their pocket most times, so they were not worry about their future.

Finally, nobody knows about his/her neighbor. For instance, I used to live in a big house back in my home country Iran. I had many neighbors around my house and I knew all of them. We decided to make a group in our area and improve the beauty of our region. Every person had a skill in a major. For example I did a great job in removing leaves in the fall, another guy built a waterfall in the small lake etc. Consequently, we had perfect houses in the past, but after 15 years, most of neighbors are replaced by new owners and nobody are interested to do something for others, because they are not familiar with each other and they tried to make another group as well, but new people are different. They avoided to do something nice for their vicinity, because they believe that they do not know each other and they prefer to spend their free times with their families and friends.

To sum up, although many people live in houses these days, they do not care about their neighborhood that much as past. In addition, they prefer to spend their money in other aspects such as buying a new technology.