In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decision for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Consultation is always important for good decision making. we can consult with various people to make a suitable decision in the important and sensational situations of our life. The parents are the best persons whom we can talk to them about our decisions, but I believe nowadays the role of parents in decision making of their children is decreasing in comparison to past time. I substantiate my idea by some supportive reasons explained below.

First and foremost, the advent of new technology causes this change of trend. the invention of computers, the internet, cell phones, etc creates many new opportunities that were not available in the past time. unfortunately, most of the parents cannot adapt themselves to these changes and they do not have sufficient information to give good advises. For example, I remember when I wanted to choose the computer science as my major field of study in university, my parents had no idea about this field, and job opportunities related to this field after the graduation or the courses which would be presented later. as a result, consultation with them was useless.

Furthermore, nowadays young people are more independent from their parents in comparison to past young people to young people in the past, specifically in the economic aspects of their life. in the past time, the young people were obliged to follow their parents in many facets, most importantly in their job. they do the same job as their father do because they could have obtained the necessary education by their father easily, and there were not too many other choices. so, the children automatically followed their parents in other areas like marriage, where to live, etc and consulted with them in mentioned subjects. nevertheless, today's young people can change their job easily because new conditions allow them to learn different kinds of career. for instance, in the past, a child whose father sold carpet continued his job because he was not enabled to change or it was too difficult, but now a child in the same situation can enroll to the university and study his favorable field and choose his job independently. this change enables children to make money independently and because of that, they don't pursue their parents in other decisions and cause them to feel they are better than their parents in decision making.

Consequently, based on the above discussion, the emergence of the new technology and the existence of many different opportunities make the young people decide with less dependency on their parents. I strongly claim that these two factors cause such changes.