People Act Differently When They Wear Different Clothes. Do You Agree that Different Clothes can Change the Way People Behave? Use Specific Examples to Support Your Answer.

The term Enclothed Cognition is used to described one effect that our clothes seems to have on various psychological processes like emotions, self evaluations, and interpersonal interactions, which in turns attributes to our behaviors, attitudes, personality, mood, and confidence. The 44 page dress code published by Swiss bank UBS that went viral online perfectly justified Enclothed Cognition. One of the sensible code in the UBS dress principle described :“If you wear a watch, it suggests that reliability and punctuality is a great concern to you.” Clothes affect our behavior and our moods because of the symbol meaning that the society ascribe to different type of attire.

To me, the term’s theory seems perfectly valid. My outfit for the day varies me in distinctive ways. For instance, wearing gym clothes makes me more likely to exercise after work that it acts as a reminder in making a healthy choice, and wearing business casual makes me more creative at work and presents me as a more friendly person. The attire empowers and impacts how we behave and feel.

Similarly, clothes that associate with specific role activates the knowledge and experience about how people from that profession should behave. Lab coat, as an example, makes the scientist more conscious and serious with their logic thinking and study operation and thus making fewer mistakes.

Above descriptions explains that the appearance we wear subtly affects our choice of behavior, attitude, and mindset. Namely, the argument that clothes affects an individual’s role playing and role making is valid.